Do you plan on joining the exciting job realm of cloud computing? If so, you are picking the right time to do so. More and more businesses are adopting cloud technology as part of their operations, and this means there is a huge demand for specialists in this field.

One of the most popular cloud platforms is Amazon Web Services (AWS), which makes it a great option to focus on for a career. When looking for a route onto this path, it is wise to gain an AWS certification, as they supply proof of knowledge certification, which can open the door to a world of life-changing cloud roles.

There’s just one issue: there are various AWS certifications available. So which one is best for your situation? This article will hopefully help you find the answer!

For beginners: AWS Cloud Practitioner – Foundational

If you have only just started scratching the surface learning about AWS and the industry in general, the AWS Cloud Practitioner – Foundational certification is a recommended choice.

The certification doesn’t go deep into any specific areas of AWS. What it does provide, however, is a general overview of basic cloud concepts. This includes everything from understanding cloud migration to how AWS works.

Even though this foundational certification won’t open the door to any high-level cloud careers, it is the best starting point for anyone who wants to build their knowledge on the subject.

For intermediates: AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate

You already have a solid grounding in cloud computing and know the basics of AWS. In that case, it makes sense to go with an associate-level certification. While there are currently three certifications at this level, the best option is arguably the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate.

In fact, for several years, this has been the most popular cloud certification available. This is due to the certification focusing on core AWS services and giving you the knowledge of how it is implemented on a day-to-day basis.

If you’re new to cloud computing but want to study to this level, it is advised to go with the aws solution architect associate training course and combine it with the AWS Cloud Practitioner certification.

For professionals: AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional

You’re experienced with AWS. You have your Associate-Level certifications. In this case, you might be prepared to go with a Professional-Level certification.

Just remember: this is only for those with advanced knowledge in AWS cloud. This is the pinnacle of certifications in AWS, after all, and one that gives you the grounding to apply for high-level cloud careers.

Along with the Architect certification, there’s also the AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional option.

For specialists: AWS Specialty Certifications

If you have years of practical experience and advanced AWS knowledge, you may want to expand on this by focusing on a specialty area. Current specialty certifications include:

  • AWS Certified Advanced Networking – Specialty
  • AWS Certified Alexa Skill Builder – Specialty
  • AWS Certified Data Analytics – Specialty
  • AWS Certified Database – Specialty
  • AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty
  • AWS Certified Security – Specialty

With this type of certification under your belt, you have the certification to really stand out when applying for a cloud-based career.