Can you imagine life without a driver’s license? How would you get anywhere? Sure, you could ask a friend, take the bus, walk, uber, ride your bike but none of that is as convenient as getting in your car and going.
Life with a driver’s license is beneficial in many different ways. But it is a privilege that can be taken away if you drive negligently among other reasons that may surprise you.
Keep reading for ten driving and nondriving infractions that can lead to losing your license.
1. Driving While Intoxicated
Driving while intoxicated is the quickest way for you to lose your license and while this might be a bit obvious it is the most severe. In fact, in some states police officers can suspend your license before you are even convicted.
Being caught and charged with a DWI will result in fines from $2,000 to $4,000 and having your license suspended from 90 days up to one year. You will also be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and could serve anywhere between 72 hours to six months in jail. If you’re lucky enough not to serve jail time, then you could still be on DWI probation which has many conditions that you must follow.
2. Multiple Moving Violations
Your license may be suspended for receiving at least three moving violations in the past three to five years. These moving violations could consist of speeding, running a red light, or driving recklessly. In most states, this is based on a point system for each ticket that you receive.
Before your license is suspended you are typically offered a hearing in front of a judge. This is where you can plead your case and explain how you’re being a much safer driver. If you drive more than 15,000 miles a year you should mention this as well because you’re driving more than the average person so you’re more likely to get a ticket or be involved in an accident.
3. Not Paying Parking Tickets
If you’re in an area with strict parking rules and receive tickets, then you should remember to always keep up with them. You can receive a parking ticket for not following the parking rules and parking your car illegally.
There are many consequences for parking illegally or having unpaid parking tickets. If you accumulate too many unpaid parking tickets, then your license could be suspended. Driving is a privilege and if you ignore the laws and not pay tickets, then it could be revoked.
4. Failing to Pay Child Support
This may surprise you but failing to pay child support became the first nondriving offense that can cause you to lose your license back in 1975. It was proven that this was a great way to get parents who did not have custody of their children to pay child support.
So if you like the freedom that comes with having your license, then you should always be keeping up with your child support payments. When this was established it increased child support payments in many states across America.
5. Intoxicated While Operating Amusement Ride
In Texas, if you’re caught operating an amusement park ride while intoxicated you could risk losing your license. They take safety in Texas very seriously so if you’re caught doing this you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and serve time in jail. Being caught intoxicated while operating or assembling an amusement park ride is a serious offense.
6. Boating While Intoxicated
Another serious offense in Texas is boating while intoxicated, or a BWI. This is as serious as a DWI and you could face the same penalties. These penalties include harsh fines, jail time or a suspended license.
Police do not need a probable cause to stop you to perform a sobriety test. Reckless driving even in a boat can be extremely dangerous.
7. Drug Offense
If you are convicted of a drug offense, then you’re license will automatically be suspended even if you weren’t operating a vehicle at the time. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days and you will also be required to take a drug education program within that time. Failure to complete the program will cause your license to stay suspended.
8. Driving With a Suspended License
If your driver’s license is already suspended and you’re caught driving, then you can receive an extension on your suspension. This will ultimately double the amount of time for your suspension and cause you more harm.
Having a suspended license for 180 days can turn into a 360-day suspension if you’re caught driving. So basically you just need to take the bus, walk, or ride a bike while your driver’s license is suspended unless you want more severe consciences.
9. Driving With No Insurance
Having insurance while driving is the law and extremely important. The first time you’re caught driving with no insurance will not be as severe as the second time you’re caught. When you’re caught driving with no insurance more than one then you could lose your license.
Also if for some reason you have canceled your insurance without getting new insurance, then you could have your license suspended. In Texas, there are certain liability insurance amounts that you must obtain to be considered a good driver for on the road.
10. Refusing a Sobriety Test
In Texas, getting your driver’s license means that you have given your implied consent to a sobriety test, breathalyzer, or blood test if a police officer suspects you’re under the influence. If you refuse any of these tests at any time, then your license will automatically be suspended.
Even if you haven’t had a single drop to drink your license could still be suspended if you refuse to complete the test. Your best option would be to always comply with police officer’s requests because they’re trying to make the roads safer for everyone.
Losing Your License Is Inconvenient
Overall, as long as you’re a good driver who follows all of the laws and rules of the road, then you shouldn’t be worried about losing your license. There are many laws that can result in losing your license so you should always be aware of what you’re doing.
If you’re interested in more lifestyle advice, then you can follow us on Twitter or Facebook so you never miss a post!